Board of Directors

Lew Foundation is led by a diverse Board of Directors, whose role is to ensure that the Foundation is operated in a responsible, accountable and sustainable manner.

The Board also manages the Foundation’s grant-making activity in line with our  vision and mission to help improve the lives of vulnerable elderly and youth within Singapore’s communities.

Mr Lew Chee Beng

Founder & Chairman

Founder and Chairman; Chairman, Programmes Committee and Asset Management Committee

  • President, Nanyang Hakka Federation (Jul 2023)
  • Recipient of the Public Service Medal (Singapore, National Day Awards 2020)
  • First Vice-President, Lau Clan General Association and the Hakka Liu Clan Association
  • Council Member, Singapore Federation of Chinese Clan Associations
  • Honorary President, Char Yong (Dabu) Association
  • A trustee in the Chinese Development Assistance Council (CDAC)
  • Vice President, Singapore Pawnbrokers Association
  • Held key leadership positions in various clan and community associations from 1983 to present

Mdm Yong Mie Liaw



  • Director, Soon Huat Goldsmith Pte Ltd

Dr Arthur Chern

Independent Director

Independent Director (since April 2015); Member, Programme Committee

  • Group CEO, St. Andrew’s Mission Hospital and Singapore Anglican Community Services
  • Held various positions in the Ministry of Health in health services planning, healthcare manpower, technology assessment, eldercare and regulatory work
  • A trained public health physician

Mr David Lew

Director & Treasurer

Director (since April 2015); Treasurer, Asset Management Committee; Member, Audit Committee

  • Executive Director, SHG Financial Services Pte Ltd
  • Singapore Khek Community Lieu Clan Association Committee Member

Mr Lew Tat Haur


Director (since April 2015); Member, Asset Management Committee and Programme Committee

  • Executive Director, SHG Financial Services Pte Ltd

Mr Joseph Liew

Independent Director

Independent Director (since April 2015); Chairman, Audit Committee

  • Independent and Non-executive Director, Grand Venture Technology Limited and Tianjin Zhong Xin Pharmaceutical Group Corporation Limited
  • Held various senior and regional leadership positions in multinational firms including Peat Marwick (KPMG), Great Eastern Life Assurance Company Limited, Sage Software Asia Pte Ltd and Giti Tire (China) Investment Company Ltd.
  • Certified Information Systems Auditor; Certified Fraud Examiner; Fellow of Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants and Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (UK); and member of the Singapore Institute of Directors

Mr Desmond Lum

Independent Director

Independent Director (since April 2015); Member, Audit Committee

  • Board Member, JC Trust, 2005 to present
  • Board Member, WE CARE Community Services, 2005-2020
  • Independent Director, Char Yong (Dabu) Foundation, 2011-2013
  • Member of Investment Committee, RM Khoo Foundation, Geneva, 2010-2012
  • Board Member, National Library Board, 2007-2011
  • Director, Senior Portfolio Manager, Absolute Return Strategies Lion Global Investors, Singapore, Dec 2019 – Present
  • Senior Portfolio Manager, Investment, AZ Investment Management, Azimut Group, Apr 2018 – Dec 2019
  • Held various positions (include Senior Management roles) in multinational banks and investment firms including Maybank, Fortis Private Banking, Jardine Fleming (now JP Morgan Chase), ABN AMRO Bank and Bank Brussels Lambert

Mr Tan Soo Kiang

Independent Director

Independent Director (since Jan 2021)

  • Chairman, Board of Governors and Supervisor, St. Andrew’s Junior College
  • Deputy Chairman, Board of Governors, St. Andrew’s School and Supervisor, St. Andrew’s Secondary School
  • Board Member, St. Andrew’s Mission Hospital and Chairman, St. Andrew’s Autism Centre
  • Independent Director, Board of Pertama Holdings Pte Ltd, MaxiCash Financial Services Corporation Limited and iShine Cloud Limited
  • Chairman, Institutional Discipline Advisory Committee/Institutional Discipline Review Committee 4, Ministry of Home Affairs

Mr Yeo Puay Hin

Executive Director

Executive Director (since July 2017); Member, Programmes Committee and Asset Management Committee

  • Chief Executive Officer, Hoe Leong Corporation Limited
  • Serves on the board and committees of several voluntary welfare organisations including Lew Foundation
  • Held various senior and regional positions in multinational technology and payments technology firms
  • Certified Project Management Professional and Scrum Master
  • Member of the Singapore Institute of Directors

Mr Low Theng Whee

Independent Director

Independent Director (since July 2023);

  • Managing Director, Guan Sang Co (PTE) LTD
  • Honorary Secretary, Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution